New life

We have been most surprised at the abundant bird life on Sage Hill. A large variety of colourful birds display to us daily.  Last week I found a tiny nest with two dark green eggs in it, perched precariously in an old plastic plant pot which had been shoved into the cavity of a dead tree stump.

image

Due to so much going on in our lives I was unable to identify who lived there until today when I set aside some time to watch the nest.  First I took a peek to see if the eggs were still there.

image

One egg and one very newborn chick. 
Bob’s was convinced that the nest belonged to the ever present paradise flycatchers however I was not so sure having had a similar experience with them in Hoedspruit. The egg colour is very different if I remember correctly.

I sat myself down with camera in hand to wait for momma bird to pop in and show herself. I realised that I still need to work on my patience issues. There is absolutely no ways I could be a private detective.  🙂  Finally she arrived with food for her baby and I was able to identify her immediately.

image

Meet mommy white-browed robin-chat.

2 thoughts on “New life

Leave a Reply

